Disaster-Resource.com

INDUSTRY CASE STUDY. With the recent damages in the Gulf Coast due to hurricanes Katrina and Rita, Poe Financial Group, a Mobile Recovery client of Rentsys Recovery Services, was not about to underestimate the potential damage a devastating hurricane could bring to their business operations. Click HERE>>

A CALL FOR ARTICLES
for the 2006/07 Disaster Resource GUIDE. We’re seeking articles in six areas: planning & management, human concerns, information availability and security, telecommunications, facility issues, & crisis communications/response. Contact us by January 10th.
Click HERE>>


The holiday season is often a time for us to reflect on the year that has passed. This past year, there was much sadness, pain, suffering and disaster experienced around the globe. One year ago, we saw the effects of the devastating South Asian tsunami. This was followed up by the horrifying terrorist attacks on London in July, Hurricane Katrina’s path of destruction quickly followed by more hurricanes, and a deadly earthquake in Pakistan. And those disasters were only the tip of the iceberg that was 2005. The year was also filled with storms, tornadoes and increasing casualties in Iraq, even as we were plagued by cybersecurity issues and identity theft crises. The list seems almost endless.

But despite those troubles, there is still hope. And, like in the ancient myth of Pandora and her box, hope will always remain. For those of us who work in BCP and EM, it is that hope which sustains us. It is through our hope that we gain the knowledge to see our vulnerabilities and act to do something about them.

Last year, we called on you, our readers, to take action and find room in your lives to help just one other person. This year, a year filled with such devastation, that call has become even more imperative.

Many of our readers have been blessed with a good life. It’s time to take those blessings and help those in need. We know that no one person can make a difference by him or herself. But if each of us – the more than 25,000 readers of the Continuity e-GUIDE – makes room to help just one person in need, think of how many people could be benefited!

For those of you who have already given of yourselves this past year, we want to thank you. Thank you on behalf of everyone who has benefited from your generosity. You have truly stepped up to the challenge we gave you last year, and proven that together, we CAN make a difference.

Once again, we are issuing a challenge to our readers: Is there someone out there who needs you? Is there room in your life for one more?

If you make room for one more, please let us know. And let us hope that by this time next year, we will see how, by helping one small step at a time, we can take a great leap forward.

Thanks for reading our Continuity e-GUIDE! We look forward to joining you again on Wednesday, January 4, 2006.

Alison Dunn

Editor, Continuity e-GUIDE


 


There are many outstanding programs offering both outreach to others and disaster relief across the globe. Here, we are spotlighting just a few of those organizations that are making a difference. In addition to the organizations we’ve highlighted, we have also provided a comprehensive list of many more organizations that need our help. We urge you to consider making a commitment to the organization of your choice.

AmeriCares
www.americares.org

A non-profit disaster relief and humanitarian aid organization, AmeriCares provides immediate response to emergency medical needs, as well as supporting long-term humanitarian assistance programs for all people around the world. AmeriCares works both nationally and internationally for disaster relief, and in 2004/2005 has participated in relief efforts following the Southeast Asian tsunami, Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, and the earthquake in Pakistan.

America's Second Harvest
http://www.secondharvest.org
Did you know that one in four people in a soup kitchen line is a child? America's Second Harvest—The Nation's Food Bank Network is the nation's largest charitable hunger-relief organization. It provides a network of more than 200 regional member food banks and food-rescue programs and serves all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. The America's Second Harvest Network secures and distributes nearly 2 billion pounds of donated food and grocery products annually.


Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption
www.davethomasfoundationforadoption.org
ApproTEC’s mission is to promote sustainable economic growth and create employments in Kenya and other countries by developing and promoting technologies that can be used to establish and run profitable, small scale enterprises. ApproTEC believes that self-motivated private entrepreneurs managing small-scale enterprises are the most effective agents for developing emergent economies.

Doctors Without Borders
www.doctorswithoutborders.org
Doctors Without Borders is an international independent medical humanitarian organization that delivers emergency aid to people affected by armed conflict, epidemics, natural or man-made disasters, or exclusion from health care in more than 70 countries. Often the first aid organization to arrive on the scene of a disaster, the organization says its volunteer doctors, nurses, logisticians, water-and-sanitation experts, administrators, and other medical and non-medical professionals depart on more than 3,800 aid missions per year.

Habitat for Humanity
www.habitat.org
Habitat for Humanity International seeks to eliminate poverty housing and homelessness from the world, and to make decent shelter a matter of conscience and action. Habitat has built more than 200,000 houses around the world, providing more than 1,000,000 people in more than 3,000 communities with safe, decent, affordable shelter. Habitat builds and rehabilitates simple, decent houses with the help of the homeowner (partner) families and then sells the houses to partner families at no profit, financed with affordable, no-interest loans.

Humane Society of the United States
www.hsus.org
The Humane Society of the United States is the nation's largest animal protection organization representing more than nine million members and constituents. The non-profit organization is a mainstream voice for animals, with active programs in companion animals and equine protection, disaster preparedness and response, wildlife and habitat protection, animals in research and farm animal welfare. Since Hurricane Katrina, the organization has been working to rescue pets and other animal victims of the hurricane.

RELIEF, CHARITABLE & OUTREACH ORGANIZATIONS

Action Against Hunger: www.aah-usa.org
ADRA International: www.adra.org
Adventist Community Services: http://www.adventist.communityservices.org/
Air Serv International: www.airserv.org
American Friends Service Committee: www.afsc.org
American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, Inc: www.jdc.org
American Jewish World Service: www.ajws.org
American Red Cross: www.redcross.org
AmeriCares: www.americares.org
America’s Second Harvest: www.secondharvest.org
Ananda Marga Universal Relief Team (AMURT): www.amurt.net
ApproTec: www.approtec.org
ARMDI, Israeli Red Cross Tsunami Emergency Fund: www.armdi.org
Association for India's Development: www.aidindia.org
B’nai B’rith International: www.bnaibrith.org
Baptist World Aid: www.bwanet.org/bwaid
Big Brothers Big Sisters: www.bbbsi.org and www.bbbsa.org
Brother’s Brother Foundation: www.brothersbrother.org
CARE: www.care.org
Catholic Charities USA: www.catholiccharitiesusa.org
Catholic Relief Services: www.catholicrelief.org
Christian Children's Fund:  www.christianchildrensfund.org
Christian Disaster Response: www.cdresponse.org
Christian Reformed World Relief Committee: www.crwrc.org
Church World Service:  www.churchworldservice.org
Concern Worldwide: www.concernusa.org
Convoy of Hope: www.convoyofhope.org
Corporation for National and Community Service Disaster Relief Fund: www.nationalservice.gov
Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption: www.davethomasfoundationforadoption.org
Direct Relief International: www.directrelief.org
Disaster Psychiatry Outreach: www.disasterpsych.org
Doctors Without Borders: www.doctorswithoutborders.org
Episcopal Relief and Development: www.er-d.org
Food for the Hungry, Inc.: www.fh.org
Feed the Children: www.feedthechildren.org
Habitat for Humanity International: www.habitat.org
Heart to Heart International: www.hearttoheart.org
Humane Society of the United States: www.hsus.org
International Aid: www.internationalaid.org
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies: www.ifrc.org
International Medical Corps: www.imcworldwide.org
International Orthodox Christian Charities: www.iocc.org
International Relief Teams: www.IRTeams.org
International Rescue Committee: www.theIRC.org
Islamic Relief Worldwide: www.islamic-relief.com
Latter-Day Saint Charities: www.lds.org/ldsfoundation
Lutheran World Relief: www.lwr.org
MAP International: www.map.org
Mennonite Disaster Service: www.mds.mennonite.net
Mercy Corps: www.mercycorps.org
Nazarene Disaster Response: www.nazarenedisasterresponse.org
National Mentoring Partnership: www.mentoring.org
Network for Good: www.networkforgood.org
Northwest Medical Teams: www.nwmedicalteams.org
Operation Blessing International: www.ob.org
Operation USA: www.opusa.org
Oxfam America: www.oxfamamerica.org
Oxfam International: www.oxfam.org
Plan USA: www.planusa.org
Presbyterian Disaster Assistance: www.pcusa.org
Prison Fellowship International: www.pfm.org
Project Concern International: www.projectconcern.org
Project HOPE: www.projecthope.org
Relief International: www.ri.org
Salvation Army: www.salvationarmy.org
Save the Children USA: www.savethechildren.org
Share Our Strength: www.strength.org
Stop Hunger Now: www.stophungernow.org
U.N. World Food Programme: www.wfp.org
UMCOR: www.umcor.org
UNICEF: www.unicef.org
United Way International: www.national.unitedway.org
USAID: www.usaid.gov
Water Missions International: www.watermissions.org
World Concern: www.worldconcern.org
World Emergency Relief: www.worldemergencyrelief.org
World Hope International: www.worldhope.org
World Relief: www.worldrelief.org World Vision: www.worldvision.org



a Weekly Publication of Disaster Resource GUIDE.
Based on the philosophy of "working together", the weekly Continuity e-GUIDE provides a concise seven-day snapshot of the business continuity and emergency management industry from around the world right down to the local level.

    Article idea? Contact the Editor, Alison Dunn at alison.dunn@disaster-resource.com.
    Want to sponsor a weekly update? Contact Tommy Rainey at tommyr@disaster-resource.com.
Interested in featuring your press release? Contact Daniel Herrera at daniel@disaster-resource.com

We are now receiving subscriptions for the 2006/2007 DISASTER RESOURCE GUIDE (11th annual Edition) which will be distributed in 2006 and early 2007. Visit the Online GUIDE to sign up for a free copy. You can sign up today. Click HERE>>

 
  subscribe>>