eGUIDE brought to you every Wednesday by the Disaster Resource Guide - December 17, 2008

CRISIS COMMUNICATION WHITE PAPER What we say, who we tell, and how we reach people varies throughout a crisis. Download this whitepaper to learn Dr. Robert Chandler's Six Stages of a Crisis™ message mapping methodology for crisis communication. Sponsored by 3n. Click HERE>>

A CALL FOR ARTICLES for the 2009/10 Disaster Resource GUIDE and quarterly Mini-GUIDEs. We're seeking for articles on business continuity, disaster recovery and emergency/ crisis management. Contact us by January 30th with article proposals. Click HERE>>
What Makes a Business Fully-Resilient? View the Webinar from Dell MessageOne.
Hope For The Holidays

It was just a few short weeks ago that the world watched in horror as terrorists struck in the Indian city of Mumbai. It was another chilling reminder that although we have worked hard to prevent these types of attacks, they can happen any time, any where.

And yet even amid all this chaos and uncertainty, there is still hope. Along with the tragic stories we heard after the attacks, we also heard stories of hope. Like the story of England's cricket team, which is donating money from one of its matches to families of the victims in Mumbai. Or the vigils that popped up across the country to mourn the victims of the attack. There are countless more stories out there of people rising to the occasion to give the world hope.

For those of us who work in BCP and EM, hope is more important than ever. It is only through hope that we can continue to work together to make a difference. To prepare, protect and respond to disaster. To help others in their time of need. To make a difference.

That is why, like we do each year, we want to call on you, our readers, to take action and find a way to make a difference. In the wake of the Mumbai attacks, now is the time to do something.

We know that no one person can make a difference by him or herself. But if each of us - the more than 25,000 readers of the Continuity e-GUIDE - does just one small thing to help, think of how many people could be saved.

For those of you who have already given of yourselves this past year, thank you. Thank you on behalf of everyone who has benefited from your generosity. You have truly stepped up to the challenge and proven that together, we CAN make a difference.

If you have done some work to make a difference, please let us know. We'd like to include your story in next year's special issue. Let us continue to hope that by helping one small step at a time, we can take a great leap forward.

We wish you all the best this holiday season, and thank you all for reading our Continuity e-GUIDE this year. We look forward to joining you again on Wednesday, January 7, 2009.

The Continuity e-GUIDE team


There are many outstanding programs offering both outreach to others and disaster relief across the globe. Here, we are spotlighting just a few of those organizations that are making a difference. In addition to the organizations we've highlighted, we have also provided a comprehensive list of many more organizations that need our help. We urge you to consider making a commitment to the organization of your choice.

AmeriCares
www.americares.org

A non-profit disaster relief and humanitarian aid organization, AmeriCares provides immediate response to emergency medical needs, as well as supporting long-term humanitarian assistance programs for all people around the world. AmeriCares works both nationally and internationally for disaster relief, and recently airlifted $1.2 million in supplies to Darfur.

Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption
www.davethomasfoundationforadoption.org

The Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption is a non-profit charity dedicated to increasing the adoption of the more than 150,000 children in North America's foster care system. The foundation's vision is that every child will have a permanent home and a loving family, and its mission is to dramatically increase the number of adoptions of waiting children in North America.

Feeding America
www.feedingamerica.org

Did you know that one in four people in a soup kitchen line is a child? Feeding America (formerly America's Second Harvest) is the nation's largest charitable hunger-relief organization. It provides a network of more than 200 regional member food banks and food-rescue programs and serves all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. The America's Second Harvest Network secures and distributes nearly 2 billion pounds of donated food and grocery products annually.

Habitat for Humanity
www.habitat.org

Habitat for Humanity International seeks to eliminate poverty housing and homelessness from the world, and to make decent shelter a matter of conscience and action. Habitat has built more than 200,000 houses around the world, providing more than 1,000,000 people in more than 3,000 communities with safe, decent, affordable shelter. Habitat builds and rehabilitates simple, decent houses with the help of the homeowner (partner) families and then sells the houses to partner families at no profit, financed with affordable, no-interest loans.

Humane Society of the United States
www.hsus.org

The Humane Society of the United States is the nation's largest animal protection organization representing more than nine million members and constituents. The non-profit organization is a mainstream voice for animals, with active programs in companion animals and equine protection, disaster preparedness and response, wildlife and habitat protection, animals in research and farm animal welfare.

RELIEF, CHARITABLE & OUTREACH ORGANIZATIONS
Action Against Hunger: www.aah-usa.org
ADRA International: www.adra.org
Africa Leadership Mocha Club: www.africanleadership.org
Air Serv International: www.airserv.org
American Friends Service Committee: www.afsc.org
American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, Inc: www.jdc.org
American Jewish World Service: www.ajws.org
American Red Cross: www.redcross.org
AmeriCares: www.americares.org
America’s Second Harvest: www.secondharvest.org
Ananda Marga Universal Relief Team (AMURT): www.amurt.net
ARMDI, Israeli Red Cross: www.armdi.org
Association for India's Development: www.aidindia.org
B’nai B’rith International: www.bnaibrith.org
Baptist World Aid: www.bwanet.org/bwaid
Big Brothers Big Sisters: www.bbbsi.org and www.bbbsa.org
Brother’s Brother Foundation: www.brothersbrother.org
CARE: www.care.org
Catholic Charities USA: www.catholiccharitiesusa.org
Catholic Relief Services: www.catholicrelief.org
Christian Children's Fund: www.christianchildrensfund.org
Christian Disaster Response: www.cdresponse.org
Christian Reformed World Relief Committee: www.crwrc.org
Church World Service: www.churchworldservice.org
Concern Worldwide: www.concernusa.org
Convoy of Hope: www.convoyofhope.org
Corporation for National and Community Service Disaster Relief Fund: www.nationalservice.gov
Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption: www.davethomasfoundationforadoption.org
Direct Relief International: www.directrelief.org
Disaster Psychiatry Outreach: www.disasterpsych.org
Doctors Without Borders: www.doctorswithoutborders.org
Episcopal Relief and Development: www.er-d.org
Food for the Hungry, Inc.: www.fh.org
Feed the Children: www.feedthechildren.org
Habitat for Humanity International: www.habitat.org
Heart to Heart International: www.hearttoheart.org
Humane Society of the United States: www.hsus.org
International Aid: www.internationalaid.org
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies: www.ifrc.org
International Medical Corps: www.imcworldwide.org
International Orthodox Christian Charities: www.iocc.org
International Relief Teams: www.IRTeams.org
International Rescue Committee: www.theIRC.org
Islamic Relief Worldwide: www.islamic-relief.com
Kick Start: http://kickstart.org/
Latter-Day Saint Charities: www.lds.org/ldsfoundation
Lutheran World Relief: www.lwr.org
MAP International: www.map.org
Mennonite Disaster Service: www.mds.mennonite.net
Mercy Corps: www.mercycorps.org
Nazarene Disaster Response: www.nazarenedisasterresponse.org
National Mentoring Partnership: www.mentoring.org
Network for Good: www.networkforgood.org
Northwest Medical Teams: www.nwmedicalteams.org
Operation Blessing International: www.ob.org
Operation USA: www.opusa.org
Oxfam America: www.oxfamamerica.org
Oxfam International: www.oxfam.org
Plan USA: www.planusa.org
Presbyterian Disaster Assistance: www.pcusa.org
Prison Fellowship International: www.pfm.org
Project Concern International: www.projectconcern.org
Project HOPE: www.projecthope.org
Relief International: www.ri.org
Salvation Army: www.salvationarmy.org
Save the Children USA: www.savethechildren.org
Share Our Strength: www.strength.org
Stop Hunger Now: www.stophungernow.org
U.N. World Food Programme: www.wfp.org
UMCOR: www.umcor.org
UNICEF: www.unicef.org
USAID: www.usaid.gov
Water Missions International: www.watermissions.org
World Concern: www.worldconcern.org
World Emergency Relief: www.worldemergencyrelief.org
World Hope International: www.worldhope.org
World Relief: www.worldrelief.org
World Vision: www.worldvision.org

 


Based on the philosophy of "working together", the weekly Continuity e-GUIDE provides a concise seven-day snapshot of the business continuity and emergency management industry from around the world right down to the local level.

We are still receiving subscriptions for the 2007/2008 DISASTER RESOURCE GUIDE (12th annual Edition), which is being distributed through early 2008. Visit the Online GUIDE to sign up for a free copy. You can sign up today. Click HERE>>

subscribe>>